Here’s the short of it…

Back in October 2013, I was bored at work one day and decided to play a game of Settlers of Catan online.

Oh give me a break. You know you goof off at work sometimes, too.

Anyway, the game had come to a lull due to the third player abruptly leaving. They were losing in a bad way which doesn’t excuse their decision to rudely abandon their spot, but I digress. As player 2 and I waited for someone to join and help us finish the game (which I won, by the way), we made a little small-talk. He told me he was German and it was cold there. I told him it was cold in Arkansas, too, and that I have a friend in Germany because her military husband is currently stationed there. I also told him I was planning a trip to visit her in March.

Fast forward 6 months…

After spending 15 days with my German Catan player, ten days ago we shared a tearful goodbye in the airport before I finally unwrapped my arms from around him and trudged down the hallway toward security. I found out later that he remained in the airport until he was able to snap a photo of my plane in the air. I never even saw my American friend because I wanted to spend every possible moment with my fella.

As I type, his plane is scheduled to land in Arkansas in approximately 36 days and 3 hours, and our wedding is in 39 days, 23 hours, and 21 minutes. I guess I should have mentioned that we decided to get married all the way back in November. When you know, you know, right?

I have 23 days left in the office at my current job and all I can think about are apostille marriage contracts, changing my name, renewing my passport, purchasing the perfect flower girl baskets that nobody will remember but me, and picking out a cake topper that functions as a home-décor item post-wedding and best portrays who we are without being too costly that, once again, nobody will remember except us.

I’m elated. I’m scared out of my mind. I’m a little sad, and I’m the happiest I’ve ever been. I’m 100% sure about him. He’s smart, kind, funny, romantic, gentle, and hard-working. I have zero doubts about him, but have you ever tried to work full time, plan a wedding, sell everything you own except your clothes and absolute necessities, learn a new language, and move to a foreign country all at once? That crap is stressful.

Join me while I document this new chapter of my life. Laugh with me while I attempt (sometimes feebly) to communicate with my Bavarian, cry with me as I prepare to leave my friends, family, and all my things behind to move 5,000 miles away to a foreign country, and shake your head in disbelief with me while I try with all my might to understand the most difficult language I’ve ever studied.

Leave a Reply

