My life in boxes and my husband’s attempt to understand the song “Pump up the Jam.”

Since my last post I’ve sold everything I own except what fit in 6 boxes and 1 50lb suitcase, I got married, and moved from Arkansas to Germany. Whew!

I’ve been in my new home for 6 days now and I’m having a blast. My German is fabulous and our village is beautiful. I only miss my American air-conditioners.

As you can imagine, our biggest hurdle as a married couple is the language barrier. He speaks very good English but can’t always find the right words, and I speak about 10 words in German. Sometimes this can be frustrating, but for the most part we handle it well and look at it as a healthy challenge for both of us. Last night’s conversation, for example, had me in absolute stitches…

My German husband randomly asked me, “Honey, do you understand the song ‘Pump up the Jam’? Because we Germans don’t understand it at all. What a weird song. Do you also want to pump up the bread and Nutella?”

I replied, “Sometimes people say things like, ‘That’s my JAM, DUDE!’ It means ‘That’s my song!’ “Jam” means “song” in this instance and to pump it up means to turn up the volume. So the song means “TURN UP THIS AWESOME SONG!”

His reply: THEN WHY DON’T YOU JUST SAY THAT?! Crazy Americans.

I laughed so hard I was afraid I’d wake the neighbors.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Amber says:

    That is hilarious!! What fun to decode all sorts of songs for him!

  2. Jimena says:

    Haha 🙂 I am so glad you are doing great! Tell your German hi. We miss you!

  3. Tracy Trembly says:

    This made me roll in the floor! I love the way you have to explain these things to him!! Miss you!!

Leave a Reply

