Life in Europe

R&B

This picture is of my German kitchen with my freshly-washed dishes and my finally-dry-after-three-days-because-we-don’t-have-a-dryer laundry. It only took me about a dozen loads of laundry to realize that life in Europe isn’t as glamorous as we Americans tend to believe it is. Guess what… Europeans actually go to work. Yeah, it’s true. And then they come home, cook dinner, clean up, do laundry, watch a little TV, and go to bed. Sound familiar? And while Germans are surrounded by intriguing countries like France, Italy, Austria, Switzerland, and the Netherlands, many can’t afford to travel because fuel is around $8.50 a gallon. And no, that’s not a typo.

*I think I hear the sound of romantic European dreams being shattered all across America.*

Want to know what’s even more interesting? They’re all jealous… OF US. Nearly every European who talks to my husband and learns he has an American wife asks him, “Why didn’t you go to America?! If I married an American, there’s no question where we would live!”

I should mention, though, that glamorous or not, I love my life. I’m thrilled to be in Germany with the man of my dreams, and I have no desire to move back to the U.S. anytime in the foreseeable future.

I should also mention that yesterday my husband and I went for a drive. We picked wild cherries on the side of the road and then drove with the windows down while the 78Β° wind blew in our hair. Then we went to a castle, explored a random cave we stumbled upon, ate amazingly delicious and authentic Greek food, stopped to take pictures of the hot air balloon soaring majestically over a small village in the Bavarian country, and eventually found our way back home at 23:30 where I admired the endless stars in the clear, country sky.

It’s those kinds of days that make all the laundry and dish-washing worth it. I never had days like that in America, and maybe I just always took my home country for granted and missed out on equally romantic moments, but I’m not sure where I would even go in the States to have a day like that.

All the Germans in Germany can think I’m crazy for wanting to come here, but it’s here in Germany, with all my non-glamorous household tasks, that I feel like I’m finally living.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Jimena says:

    So happy for you! I love reading your adventures.

    1. Awww, thanks friend! It’s so fun here.

  2. Deannarama says:

    I have questions! Does your laundry not mold at all, being wet for three days, and why does it take three days to dry? Also, in my crazy fantasy life, all those Germans are traveling about by glamorous romantic train, with not a thought as to gas prices. Haha! I love reading your blog!

    1. Haha! And I love that you read my blog! πŸ™‚

      Ok, I have answers…
      The laundry being wet for 3 days isn’t always reality. The time it takes for them to dry depends on the weather and humidity. But I often leave them down in the cellar for 3 days because I’m terrible at being able to tell if they are dry or not. I’m accustomed to feeling hot clothes and being able to sense wetness. It’s much different feeling room-temperature clothes and trying to determine whether or not they’re still wet. I’m getting better, though, and last week I brought up a load after just one day. Anyway, yes, sometimes I smell the faintest hint of mold and it’s completely disgusting. The German isn’t at all sensitive to that smell. Maybe he’s used to it. I never rewash anything though. Maybe I should, but it’s just so much work.

      The truth about train trips here is that sometimes they can be just as expensive as driving. And if you do find a good deal on a trip, it’s free to park your car at the train station, but if you’re there overnight you run the risk of coming back to a spray-painted or dented car. So let’s say you take a taxi to the train station… That’s another 15 euros. And then once you get where you’re going, how do you get around? You can either walk at that point or rent a car. In my dreams I imagined all of Europe as this wonderful place where no matter where you were, you didn’t need a car. You could walk to the nearest whatever and make your purchases or sightsee. But when we went to Paris in March, we walked from our hotel to the Eiffel Tower, walked up it and back down, and back to the hotel and it took 8-9 hours. Without a car, it takes a very long time to get somewhere. (Mainly because I’m a big baby and way out of shape but whatever.) My friend who lives in Germany went to Paris last year. She looked at train tickets and the savings were minimal to driving so she decided to pay just a little extra on fuel so she could drive and have the freedom of a car while she was there.

      BUT, according to the German, sometimes you find an incredible deal that’s too good to pass up. Then you take the train. πŸ™‚

  3. Hello R & B, I just came across your blog yesterday, and I think I read all your posts today. Looking forward to more! I’m also an American expat living in Germany, and I can relate (and have written about) many of the points you make: vacuum cleaners, how long laundry takes, language “incidents”, what I miss about the U.S. (which by now is not much)… I really enjoy your blog. Keep writing!

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words! I have so many questions for you! Such as, when did you move to Germany and why and what part of the country are you in? I’m so excited to be connected with a fellow American expat! Now I’m gonna go read your blog… πŸ˜„

Leave a Reply

