To my friends and family…

Writing has always been therapeutic for me so I created this blog as a way to keep my friends and family back in the States apprised of the daily goings-on of German life. In the process, I’ve met other fascinating expats that I’ve been able to learn from or vent to. I haven’t shared my name or my husband’s name, and I’ve kept my truly private life private, but today’s post will be slightly different. Today I’ll be a little vulnerable and let you peek inside my life on a deeper level than ever before…

I met my now-husband online on October 17, 2013. We met in person for the first time on March 20, 2014. Late in the evening of May 20th, he arrived in the States. By the time we married on May 24th, we’d spent about 19 total days together, and we returned to Germany on June 2nd. It was a whirlwind! My friends and family were all amazingly supportive and after the small amount of time they got to spend with my husband, they fell in love with him, too.

So today I’d like to say to my friends and family, thank you for your support. Thank you for loving both of us through all of this and for sending us off with well-wishes. We are so happy! Yes, sometimes living in a foreign country is hard. Sometimes the inability to escape from the heat or humidity on a hot day makes me nuts. Sometimes not being able to communicate with the vast majority of people here gets lonely. Sometimes even the smallest tasks feel stressful.

But when my husband calls me on his way home from work and says, “Oh, honey. I missed you so much today” it makes it all worth it. When he gets home, sees me in my baggy shorts and t-shirt with no make-up on and my hair pulled back in a messy ponytail and says, “My God, you’re beautiful,” it makes it all worth it. One day he mentioned he’d like a slice of lemon for his beer and asked if we had any. I said, “Yeah. There’s one in the fridge” and without hesitation, I jumped up, grabbed the lemon, and handed it to him. It was a natural reaction for me. It wasn’t special. It wasn’t a chore. I just did it. And he paused and said, “You’re so wonderful. I know you enough to know that getting me that lemon was nothing for you. It’s just who you are, but for me it was everything. You treat me so well and you have no idea how much it means to me when you do even the smallest things for me. You’re so good to me. I love you.”

When he wakes up in the morning, scoots over to my side of the bed, kisses me and says, “I can’t believe you’re all mine” I know I made the right decision (not that I ever doubted it for even a second). He treats me with patience, kindness, respect, and gentleness. He is loving and romantic. He’s slow to anger and never reminds me of my past failures. He seeks to make me happy because in my happiness, he finds joy. (Reminds me of that familiar passage in 1st Corinthians 13.)

I got married exactly 3 weeks before my 30th birthday. Many people told me over the years that I needed to lower my standards. They said I’d never find the perfect guy and until I realized that, I would never get married. But I always replied with, “I’m not looking for the perfect man. I’m looking for the perfect man FOR ME.” And I found him. He was halfway across the world, but I found him. And I’d move anywhere in the world and learn any language just to be with him. I’m so glad I didn’t lower my standards and settle for less than the best man for me, and I’m so thankful that my friends and family trusted me enough to support my decision to marry him and move to Germany.

I love each of you dearly, and if any of you had any bit of worry in the back of your mind that maybe I regret my decision to come here, be at ease. Germany is wonderful, and my husband is even more wonderful.

*hugs and kisses*

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jimena says:

    I know you are happy, I know he loves you, I know you love him back, I know I miss you and I know I can’t wait to see you again.

    From your coffee friend 🙂

    1. I miss my coffee friends, too! I’ll only be home for a week next year but we must carve out time for coffee!

Leave a Reply

