Learning a New Language

If you’ve ever been interested in learning German, French, or Spanish, or improving your English, keep reading for information on how to save 50€ (or the equivalent of your currency) off your first month of online lessons!

First of all, I’d like to say that I have no affiliation with Lingoda (link at the bottom) except that I am one of their students. They did not ask me to advertise for them. I am merely doing so because I thoroughly enjoy my German classes and hope you will sign up and enjoy learning another language as well!

In Germany, it is the law that if a foreigner wants to become a citizen and/or have a job, they must pass a German language test to prove their proficiency in German. Cheap classes are offered by the government and can be attended locally, but I am not interested in taking the government classes for the following reasons:

  1. My husband works very odd days and we often like to travel on his days off. If I had to be in class from 8:00-12:30 on his day off, it would really cramp our lifestyle.
  2. Unfortunately, the government-supported school doesn’t have a great reputation. Sure, there are great teachers out there, but I’ve heard MANY reports that those great teachers are few and far between.
  3. The school is full of people who truly don’t want to be there but are being forced by the government. I read one report where over half the students talked in class or arrived very late and were disruptive. That does not sound like an environment conducive to learning.
  4. Finally, the demand is far too high for me. I live in a very small area so there’s only one option for taking classes: Monday through Friday from 8:00-12:30! (In bigger areas there are many more options available.) I tried this, folks. I really tried. I spent 3 days in one of these schools and on the third night, I felt so overwhelmed and stressed that it took all I had to keep from breaking down into heavy sobs. Imagine trying to absorb 4 hours of information all at once, and continuing to do it day after day after day… Studies show that we are able to remember 6-10 minutes of material from a 60 minute lecture. Because of this, we learn better when we try to digest the information in smaller quantities and at a slower pace.

All that being said, I was desperate to find another solution for learning German, and after a bit of research, I discovered Lingoda. Lingoda offers online classes and limits the number of students per class to 5, though I’ve never been in a class with more than 3 students and am typically alone with the teacher (Yay for private lessons!). The teachers are required to be native speakers of the language they are teaching, and they must be fluent English speakers as well. Using Adobe Connect, I am able to see my live teacher on video and a PowerPoint presentation of the 60 minute lesson. I am able to download and print the lesson plan before the class, and can ask questions and learn at my own pace.

I create my own schedule as well. If I’m not available to take classes on Friday then I simply don’t sign up for any. Easy as that! If I need to repeat a lesson I struggled with, I can do that as well, or I can skip lessons I don’t find helpful. For example, after taking a few dictation classes, I didn’t find that these were entirely necessary so I now choose to skip them. Classes are also available 24 hours a day! Because of the flexibility of the program, I am able to completely customize my classes! And you don’t have to start as a beginner, either. If you already know a bit of German, for example, you can start with a higher level and you can change your level at any time!

Lingoda has changed my life for the better. Being able to speak for myself again has offered me a freedom I haven’t felt since I moved here, and it certainly relieves some of my husband’s burden to be my full-time translator. And one of the best things about putting myself out there and trying to speak German is that I have felt pride and support from total strangers for the fact that I’m even trying to learn their language! Not long ago, a man offering samples of meat at the grocery store, threw up his hands in approval and practically cheered at my ability to tell him (in German) “I’m sorry, my German isn’t very good, but I’m learning.” And later, when I said, “Yeah, the meat tastes really good.” he was overjoyed. To be praised and supported by total strangers makes me feel like part of the community, and my overall happiness in Germany has grown by leaps and bounds since I began my classes!

If you are living abroad and wish to learn the language of your new country, or if you simply want to become bilingual, PLEASE sign up for these classes! They are absolutely amazing and will bring such fulfillment to your life!

To save 50€ on your first month of lessons, please simply comment on this blog with a message such as “I want to sign up!” I will be able to see your email address privately and will send you an email with the information. When I email you, I will ask for the first and last name of the person wishing to sign up for classes, and I will give you the code and instructions for using it. Then I will alert my Lingoda adviser to keep a lookout for you to sign up for classes. It’s as easy as that!

Happy Learning!

https://www.lingoda.com/

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Safeer uddin says:

    i want to sign up!

    1. Super!!! I just sent you an email with the subject “Lingoda Code.” Please check your spam filter to make sure you get it!

  2. Anna says:

    I want to sign up! I’ve signed up for a trial lesson but hopefully that doesn’t negate the reference, since I did find it through this site 🙂

    1. Woo hoo! Anna, I will send an email to the address you used for your comment an…..all@g….m. The subject line will be Lingoda and it will have all the info for you. Please check your spam folder to make sure you get it. If not, comment back here and I’ll figure out another way to communicate the code!

  3. Michelle says:

    I would like to sign up, but I would like a trial lesson first. Do I need to do anything different?

    1. Hi there! Go ahead and sign up for your trial lesson. You don’t need a special code for that. I’ll send you a private email with the subject line “Lingoda.” It’ll have the information on how to use the code if you decide to sign up after your trial lesson. I think you’ll really like it! 🙂 Happy Learning!

Leave a Reply

